Friday, August 19, 2011

New Zealand Information

New Zealand is a small country that can be found in the Pacific Ocean. New Zealand was one of the last largest landmasses settled by humans. New Zealand was first settled by eastern Polynesians between1250 and 1300. Most of New Zealand’s population is of European descent. Maori is the largest minority followed by Asians and non-Maori Polynesians. The New Zealand Flag was sewn by an Australian person and voted on by 25 Maori chiefs from the far north. In 1840 the Treaty of Waitangi was signed between the British crown and various Maori chiefs, bringing New Zealand into the British Empire and giving Maori equal rights with British citizens.

The capital city of New Zealand is Wellington. In New Zealand people have different languages including, English,Te Reo Maori and New Zealand Sign Language. It also has three main Islands named, South Island, North Island and Stewart Island. It also has the Chatham Islands connected.

No comments:

Post a Comment